Strongman fascinaletes me.

31 Jan

Seriously.   I spent an hour on Sunday carrying kegs and Farmer’s Walk handles up and down the triple.  And I loved it.  And I wished I had my shoes.  (Really?  Did I say that?  Seriously?)  When you’re carrying heavy things, especially for speed, that land-on-the-forefoot walk barefooters like so much is largely impossible.  So, could’ve done with my Minimus.   I will say, though, I am completely intrigued by the class and can’t wait to find out what the next toy will be!  I’m fascinated by the simplicity of the idea of Atlas spheres, big cement balls, and the things you do with them!  Continental lift?  Excellent!  Who knows what I’ll be fumbling around with next?

So I did GymNasty on Saturday, which I always love.  Guided practice moving one’s own bodyweight around.  Extremely practical and fulfilling, with success built in:  as you get stronger and lose weight, your strength-to-weight ratio invariably improves.  It HAS to get better, and that’s palpable.  Beside which, I have a personal little thrill in being upside-down.  Those flips and hand-balancing and such give me a particular exhilarated thrill that’s hard to match.  I considered doing the WOD after Gymnasty, but the 10 o’clock was crammed because the 11 was cancelled, and it was just too crowded for me.  

As for food for the weekend, I’ve been good.  I know there was a lot of steamed broccoli and steak, and there’s nothing wrong with that at all.  I’m still not drinking enough water, but I”m consciously trying to improve that.   And been sticking to the intermittent fast, limiting my grazing periods to what I’ve got between a WOD and bed, to a maximum of 8 hours.  I was a little wound up and off my game on Sunday evening, and I far too little food, which left me kinda grumbly-hungry all day today.  I gave in and had an apple with almond butter around 4;  I was just running down.  Kept to my 8 hours anyway, and it had become apparent I wasn’t going to make the WOD, so it mattered less.  I have been sticking to WODing fasted, and I think I like it.

For food:

4:30 the aforementioned apple.

7:15:  1 tbsp almond butter.

10:00:  3/4 tomato.  4 small mozzarella cheese balls in olive oil.  5 oz steak.  3/4 cup steamed broccoli.

11:30:   1 1/2 tomato in olive oil.   6 oz steak.  1 cup hot drinking chocolate w/ coconut water.  

I really crammed in the tomatoes and the steak.  apparently, for me, eating until I’m really full is critical for tomorrow and for recovery.  At least there’s lots of vegetables about.  My boyfriend has been awesome in the Keeping Vegetables in the House realm.  There’s also plenty of steak left for tomorrow.  Awesome.  

Hopefully WOD tomorrow.  Bedtime now.

Willpower:  Holding strong at 10!  I have goals!  Strongman!  Gymnasty!  Grrrrr!

Leave a comment