Gratifyingly heavy.

1 Feb

I’m not gonna say I was breaking any records today, that’s for sure.  But I wasn’t THAT far below Rx, and I didn’t do bad.  Not great, but not bad.  I don’t squat as often as I should, a pattern I am actively trying to improve, and so while I scaled a bit and perhaps could have gone even slightly closer, I was happy with my squats today.  That low back position also wreaks havoc with my shoulder ROM, but I try not to think of it too much while I work; I was very unfortunately reminded of that stretch when I did the follow-up burpees, and promptly fell to the ground because my arms wouldn’t catch me.  Exciting!

Today was also a little odd because I’ve been doing this Intermittent Fasting thing and, frankly, really liking it.  It wasn’t a choice today, since I ended up on a long-distance ambulance trip, and there’s always a meal involved in that.  The trip was early, the crew hits a restaurant afterward, then returns.    The only real difficulty I’m still working on with the IF is quantity:  how much to eat when.  I know what not enough feels like.   Today I found out what too much pre-WOD feels like.  Ugh.   It was Red Robin, and I went bunless, though I did have some steak fries (tubers are legal in Primal, and I stayed away from the ketchup.  I was good.).   To my dismay Red Robin no longer offers Sweet Potato.  Sad.   Anyway, I went into today’s WOD all gassy and concerned I might yak.  Which I did not.  I did okay, but it was an unfamiliar feeling, and so perhaps less would have been more.

I still finished, though, and my relatively heavy deads and back squats felt great, actually.

I still have my pull-ups tonight, and I’ve got a steak upstairs to get to, and some more foam and fish oil, ’cause my low back is kinda wrecked.  Here’s the score for the day:

Food:

~11:00   1 quart whole milk over ~45 minutes.   1 square dark chocolate with some almond butter.

~3:30   1 Bunless mushroom and swiss burger,  1 potato worth of steak fries.  1 cup broccoli, steamed.

post-WOD:  1 SFH shake.   1 cup coconut water.

Dinner to come:  6 oz steak, rare.  big tree of broccoli, steamed.  maybe 2.

 

WOD:

Part 1

30 bodyweight back squats  (145, scaled to 125)

30 burpees.

didn’t see the time.  Not fast.

Part 2

5 rounds

7 deadlifts  185  (scaled to 175.  awesome, right?)

14 box jumps  20″

9:15

foam.  3 rounds max-rep push-ups.

I’ve got 5 rounds max deadhang pullups tonight, too.  I’ll edit those later.

Leave a comment