Today I felt like a rock star.

21 Feb

I know it’s not really true, but I felt really awesome.  I was hesitant about coming in today because I felt tired and out of it; I haven’t slept well this weekend after a poor-outcome veterinary emergency.  I am, however, very glad I came.  

I was actually kinda psyched when I saw the WOD:  the final WOD from the Crossfit Games last year.  Look at all those rope climbs!  Love it!od.  I love bodyweight movements!  I’m not as enormously strong as some of our mighty Competitors, but I’m pretty good at moving myself around, and I feel pretty cool about that.  I was all excited to go Rx and crush this, but those top weights are a little iffy for me.  My 1RM C&J is 125, and I jerked 145 once, and I was certainly game to test myself, but Niki reigned me in a little.  Thank God.  ‘Cause that was hard, and the rope climbs were killer.  But I felt awesome.  Powerful.  In command.  I get an “I feel great” WOD about once every two weeks.  

Anyway, great WOD tonight.

I know it has been a couple weeks. I’ll write about my Throwdown Competition experience tomorrow.  I did have an awesome time at Throwdown, and I learned a lot about myself.  Good stuff!

Rest assured, since my last post, I’ve been good.  Eating clean and all, except for a 8 oz of Mountain Dew post-Throwdown, and another 20 oz the next day.  Again I say, THAT’S MY CHEAT?  Pathetic!

Today’s WOD:  

5 rope climbs (15′)

5 Clean and Jerk, 95 lbs.

4 rope climbs

4 C&J 105

3 rope climbs

3 C&J 115

2 rope climbs 

2 C&J 125

1 rope climb

1 C&J 135  (PR)

11:00.   probably could’ve shaved 30 seconds off this, but whatever.  It was hard.

Tabata Grasshoppers.  I didn’t count.  but they sucked.

 

Food today:  

Early snack:  1 cup 2% milk. (3:30?)

4:45:  pork, asparagus, and sweet red pepper stir fry w/ 1 cup brown rice.  1 pint whole milk. yum!

Post WOD:  1 shake w/ 1 scoop Progenex recovery and 1 scoop more muscle.  1 pint coconut water.

dinner:  3 large trees of steamed broccoli.  2 square-cut-pizza sized (fooled you) crustless quiche w/ sausage, mushrooms, and spinach.  1 cup drinking chocolate w/ 1/2 coconut milk and 1/2 whole milk.

 

Great day!  I’m still doing Intermittent Fasting, and I’m loving it!  I think it’s working really well for me, and to prove it, I’ve seen some significant PRs this week, to go along with my WOD shorts fitting looser!  

Anyway, there it is.  More thoughts written tomorrow!

Leave a comment